11
Mar
08

My Musings on The Hobbit

Even though I am not much of a science fiction/fantasy kind of chick, I really enjoyed reading The Hobbit. I’m not one to get into dwarves or elves or hobbits or things like that.  But Tolkien is such an incredible writer that he draws you into his world of goblins, dwarves, hobbits, and dragons. I must admit, I don’t follow all the destinations and directions, but my husband informed me that there is a map in the back and explained that for a boy to be able to follow exactly where the hobbit and his friends were going is really cool. I have yet to turn to the end of the book and follow the map…I have a hard time following maps in real life.  Aside from that, I have found many applications in regard to my Christian walk, like being at an impossible place and always being rescued from impending doom.  Just like people today or the children of Israel in the OT,  the dwarves  couldn’t rest and realize that the next to impossible really could happen (ie. Red Sea, manna, water out of rocks, just to name a few).

There was a passage that really struck me on page 233. “Going on from there was the bravest thing he (Bilbo) ever did. The tremendous things that happened afterwards were as nothing compared to it. He fought the real battle in the tunnel alone…” WOW…I fight battles within myself all the time, and they are by far the toughest.  Fear creeps in and paralyzes me…all those “what if’s.” Bilbo becomes more confident as the story proceeds and realizes he can actually do more than he thought. In fact, in my walk with Christ,  I’m becoming more confident in Him and what He is doing in and through me…I see Him at work, and I’m grateful I’m not alone.   

The dragon Smaug was fascinating to me. The hobbit “was in grievous danger of coming under the dragon-spell. ” ” Now a nasty suspicion began to grow in his (Bilbo) mind…That is the effect that dragon-talk has on the inexperienced. Bilbo of course ought to have been on his guard; but Smaug had rather an overwhelming personality.” To me, Satan has an overwhelming personality and combined with our weak flesh, it looks like I don’t stand a chance. But, the end of the story has already been written; Satan’s already been defeated; my victory came when Christ died on the cross and crushed Satan’s head.  Thankfully, Abba is revealing Satan’s lies to me, and I’m becoming more experienced in taking up the shield of faith which quenches those fiery darts that Satan tries to pierce me with.

The story is also about greed, and I find myself acting like Thorin does. Even though there is an immense amount of treasure, he’s willing to part with none of it and willing to risk his life as well as the other dwarves’ lives in order to keep all of it.  I am in the process of learning that relationships are what Jesus is concerned about, relationship with Him, relationships with others; nothing else really matters.

The story ends at it should; evil is once again defeated by a surprising rescue; or is it that surprising?  The elves, dwarves, and people are reconciled to each other, and the land is peaceful for quite some time.

I absolutely loved the ending where Gandalf and Bilbo are talking and Bilbo says, “Then the prophecies of the old songs have turned out to be true, after a fashion!” “Of course!” said Gandalf. “And why should not they prove true? Surely you don’t disbelieve the prophecies, because you had a hand in bringing them about yourself? You don’t really supposed, do you, that all your adventures and escapes were managed by mere luck, just for your sole benefit? You are a very fine person, Mr. Baggins, and I am very fond of you; but you are only quite a little fellow in a wide world after all!” “Thank goodness!” said Bilbo laughing.  I cannot say it any better.  Abba’s already planned and ordained the days for me before one of them came to be (Ps. 139: 16).  And I like Bilbo say, “Thank goodness!”

0 Responses to “My Musings on The Hobbit”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

time flies

March 2008
S M T W T F S
    Apr »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  
Follow enjoying the ride… on WordPress.com

enter your email

Join 1,210 other followers

when I wrote my stuff


