13
Mar
08

My Inability to Multi-task

As a woman, I thought I was supposed to be able to multi-task; however, this is not so in my case. I have found this incredibly frustrating at times considering I have 5 children who talk at me all at the same time while I’m trying to get dinner ready. This makes me feel like my head will explode and not in a good way. (Sometimes it feels like my body’s going to explode and my head pop off, and this is always a good thing, but my lack of being able to multi-task is not that).  I’m not even talking about multi-tasking effectively; I’m talking about mult-tasking at all.  The most I can usually do is unload the dishwasher while talking on the phone. I usually pace while I’m talking on the phone, but I don’t think that counts as doing two things at the same time. I cannot read and have the TV or CD player on; sometimes, Jeff would play the guitar while I would watch TV, and I would feel myself becoming more and more agitated until I couldn’t take it anymore.  Tonight, for example, I was making a quesadilla and walked into the study in the next room to check e-mail, and that quesadilla was history. I didn’t smell it; I didn’t even find it burning on the stove; in fact, I hardly had a recollection of making it even when my son came and told me it was burning. 

Several years ago, I actually attempted to homeschool 3 children while having 2 babies 17 months apart.  I look back now and wonder how my children learned anything. My oldest two sons were in 2nd and 3rd grade, so they could do alot on their own. However, my third son was in kindergarten.  Before I realized it, we were 40 lessons behind, and to catch up we had to do at least 2 lessons a day. He was learning to read at the time; so it was disastrous. Fortunately, today, that son loves to read, and all three boys do very well in school…God’s grace covers even the most insane situations.  But during this crazy time, Jeff actually released me from my inability to multi-task. He actually told me to do what I wanted to do during the day. If I was motivated to do laundry that week, or if I was in a cooking mode, or if I really wanted to embrace the kids’ schooling, then that was what he wanted me to do.  This was a relief to me, because Jeff was not putting undue expectations on me; in fact, he was putting none on me whatsoever. That was freeing for me. I honestly believe that’s how God looks at me too. He doesn’t expect things from me or out of me. It’s all about relationship with Him, not because He needs work done or needs me to read my Bible.  Again, freeing.

Since this is how God created me, there is no cure for my “malady.” God’s grace and love have to flow through me at those times when everyone is talking at me all at once or when Jeff tries to tell me something in the next room while I’m typing on the computer. I don’t think it will ever all be quiet, and I don’t want it to be.  I just want to rely on God so completely that I don’t get irritated quite so often.  I’m learning to accept how I am and embrace the way God’s created me, and that is enough for now.

3 Responses to “My Inability to Multi-task”


  1. 1 Lindsey Smith
    March 14, 2008 at 6:56 am

    I think you are perfect just the way you are little mama!! Multi-tasking is highly overrated anyway! 🙂

  2. 2 Anna
    March 18, 2008 at 5:36 pm

    Kim ofcourse you can muli-task you talk to me on the phone for hours at a time and still manage to get things done. 🙂

  3. 3 Julie Herman
    April 20, 2008 at 2:31 pm

    I never knew that you and I are sooooo much a like, but I am learning and enjoying it! LOL! 🙂

    I am still laughing at your stories, because I can multi-task in the kitchen, but that’s about the extent of it. When it comes to my house-chores…I get side-tracked REALLY easily, but I’m learning to start my days off with a prayer to my Heavenly Father to help me through the day and to help me be efficient in whatever I take on that day.


Leave a Reply

time flies

March 2008
S M T W T F S
    Apr »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  
Follow enjoying the ride… on WordPress.com

enter your email

Join 1,210 other followers

when I wrote my stuff


