15
Mar
08

My friend called me a God-hippie…

I talked to my friend Anna yesterday, and she has been reading some of my blogs. She called me a hippie, a God-hippie to be exact. I really kind of like that. It seems like the more I fall in love with Jesus, the more raw I become; maybe I’m starting to come into my true self, the one that’s not quite so people-pleasing and sensitive to the wrong kind of things. I’ve had someone else ask me if I was a grace junky; I like that too, but I think God-hippy is more to the point. I don’t want to love God’s grace instead of God Himself.  It’s kind of like being in love with the Word of God instead of the Living Word…that’s what I always take away from people who pressure other people to read the Bible, like that is the only place we can find God. It becomes another form of the law. Don’t get me wrong, I love to read the Bible and do read it; however, Jesus is not just found in those pages…He’s here, He’s all around, He’s in me…So if God-hippie in any way describes a girl who is madly in love with Jesus and doesn’t care what other people think about that, then that works for me…peace…

2 Responses to “My friend called me a God-hippie…”


  1. 1 Anna
    March 18, 2008 at 5:34 pm

    Kim,
    I love it!! And love you 🙂 you are a God hippie, and I want to be more like you. I can only pray that someday I look at a tree they way you do. You inspire me. He is here all around and he is in you and me. Thats exciting. Im so glad we are friends. peace… to you

  2. 2 Julie Herman
    April 20, 2008 at 2:25 pm

    Isn’t it amazing what He does in our lives when we give Him total control? Scary sometimes, but growing up the way we did, I took a lot of things, spiritually for granted for a LONG time and even think I was immune to what loving and trusting God really means!

    Again, thank you so much for your thoughts. You have blessed my soul & reminded me that there are others out there, that are JUST like me…loving, trusting, and still learning to grow in His grace daily.

    I.Peter 3:12, ‘The eyes of the Lord are on the righteous and his ears are attentive to their prayers.’


Leave a Reply

time flies

March 2008
S M T W T F S
    Apr »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  
Follow enjoying the ride… on WordPress.com

enter your email

Join 1,210 other followers

when I wrote my stuff


