28
Mar
08

Being Rescued…

When I’m in the middle of a pit, a pit that I made for myself, I find that I don’t have the wherewithal to rescue myself. I can’t just crawl out of it; it’s not that easy; sometimes when I’ve slipped in so deep, I simply do not have the strength to do anything, and sometimes I’m still discussing with myself whether or not I even want to get out of my pit.  Maybe there was a choice in the beginning before I started slipping and falling head first; maybe then I could have looked to Jesus, but again He’s still the One making  the rescue. It’s just a matter of how far down He has to reach.

Sin has a certain allure to it; the enemy honestly makes me feel like I’m missing out on something I should have; that God is somehow cheating me out of something that’s good for me. My sin is a lack of satisfaction with where I am, who I’m with, and ultimately with Christ Himself. I think that’s probably what Eve felt in the Garden…that she was missing out and pretty much had to have what she was after.  

I’ve seen God do some amazing rescues…I’m grateful. I’m in the process of being rescued again, and I’m more grateful than ever…His love overwhelms me. A favorite songwriter of mine says, “He sees the depths of my heart, and He loves me the same.”  In the past couple years, my journey has been wrapped up in enjoying Christ’s love; I’m really learning how to trust Him and let go, but then there are these sin issues that I have, and I even KNOW that I don’t want to go there, but it’s that whole “missing out” factor for me. It’s the mirage; it’s the pretty package; it’s the thing I have to have.

“Oh, heart of mine/Why must you stray/From one so fair/ You run away/ And one more time you have to pay/The heaviness of needless shame. So come home running/His arms are open wide/His name is Jesus/And He understands/He is the answer/You are looking for/So come home running/Just as you are.”

He who has been forgiven little loves little…

“Turn your gaze to heaven and raise a joyous noise, The sound of salvation comes, the sound of rescued ones.” I know what that sounds like; I’m one of the rescued ones… 

1 Response to “Being Rescued…”


  1. 1 Shel
    March 29, 2008 at 8:21 am

    oh yeah! What I’ve come to lately is that lack of satisfaction is so deep in me….I grow quickly jealous of others and then become critical if I’m not where I think I should be. In the end I think I discover the greatest distance from Papa because really I was rejecting Him all along, for not making me better. And then, I have to crawl back up in His lap and………but the shame of all that keeps me from doing that for a long time.
    Someone said to me recently, I’ve wondered how you could be so open hearted and then be critical at the same time……wow, friends are great! Anyway….I too love that line, you see the depths of my heart and you love me the same….Thankyou Jesus! I think I get stuck the most in seeing the depths of my own heart and wondering how I could be loved, which is what starts the whole cycle for me…..forgiveness to myself….and then I’m thankful for Brennan M….since that seems to be a struggle of his.


Leave a Reply

time flies

March 2008
S M T W T F S
    Apr »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  
Follow enjoying the ride… on WordPress.com

enter your email

Join 1,210 other followers

when I wrote my stuff


