16
Apr
08

What Not To Wear

 

On Sunday, I went to Alabama for a funeral. As I was packing up my stuff to go, I was thinking about how excited I was to be wearing this Ann Taylor dark blue suit that I had gotten for a dollar from a consignment pack-a-sack sale. I never dress up anymore, and it was kind of fun to be wearing something nice for a change. I was pumped about how cute I thought I would look, despite the fact that my white shirt has permanent stains all over it…I just planned on keeping my jacket on. On Monday, as I was getting ready for the funeral, I was picturing myself prancing around in my suit, hugging everyone I hadn’t seen for 6 months. I went to put on my shirt and jacket that had been hanging on one hanger together, and then panic struck…where was the other hanger that I had put my pants on? I ran out to my van to see if I had left them in there, but I knew I hadn’t. I knew they were hanging on my closet door in Nashville. I was kind of ticked at first because I had even ironed my pants. So, I had my permanently stained white shirt, my suit jacket that I couldn’t take off but is supposed to be part of a suit, and blue jeans, and that’s what I wore to the funeral. But even in this little thing, I was reminded of my pride, and I just had to laugh at how God is humbling me even in the small things.  

2 Responses to “What Not To Wear”


  1. 1 Anna
    April 22, 2008 at 7:55 pm

    i put about 6 pairs of pants in my car for you…. but im glad that you were humbled. you looked just as beautiful in jeans as you would have in your your suit pants. probably better.


Leave a Reply

time flies

April 2008
S M T W T F S
« Mar   May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  
Follow enjoying the ride… on WordPress.com

enter your email

Join 1,208 other followers

when I wrote my stuff

Stuff others seem interested in


