04
May
08

The Wonder of it All

 

I’ve been climbing the hill at my house for almost a week now. I’ve been trying to do it once in the morning and then once again in the evening. Rumor has it that Garth Brooks owns a house at the very top of the hill…but I can barely see the house from the gate, and there’s a camera, so I haven’t investigated further.  We live at the bottom of the hill on the other street…we’re his friends in low places…

 

When you get to the top of the hill, there’s an incredible view of the entire city. There, in the middle of the city is the famous Batman building, which my oldest son insisted we all had to touch one night when we were in downtown Nashville for a concert.

 

I’ve been really sore from climbing the hill, and I was beginning to think I was quite the wimp. Even though I had taken a month sabbatical from exercising (sabbatical…makes it sound like it was planned; it makes me sound like I’ve just run a marathon or something and need to rest…actually I just got a little bored and lazy), I honestly didn’t think I was that out of shape to be so sore. Jeff assured me I wasn’t as much of a weenie as I thought I was, that it actually is quite a steep climb…I mean, you can see the entire city, and Garth must have an incredible view from his back porch…

 

I’ve found I like climbing the hill for three very different reasons. I like walking by myself in the morning…it gives me a chance to exercise and to talk with Abba away from all the chaos. I haven’t gotten up early enough these days to see the sun rise, but I discovered last fall that that is a breathtaking sight. One morning, I was excited to see a rabbit though. I like going again in the afternoon with Jeff because it gives us a chance to talk and hang out without “little ears” around.  But I think I especially like climbing the hill with my children…they notice the many things I wouldn’t necessarily notice by myself. When I walk with my kids, I have no agenda, other than keeping my children off the road when cars go by.  We get to stop for every caterpillar, cool stick, bird, butterfly, honeysuckle, and keys (which my second son has informed me is the name for those helicopter twirly things)…we take the time to stop and really enjoy Abba’s creation with child-like wonder and amazement that adults have to work hard to understand and relax enough to truly enjoy…maybe that’s why Jesus liked little kids so much…they get it…the wonder of it all…

 

Jeremiah, my 3 year old, was asked this morning at church what he wants to do when he grows up. He answered, “Feed the chickens.” I think when I finally grow up, I want to feed the chickens too…

 

 

 

2 Responses to “The Wonder of it All”


  1. May 5, 2008 at 9:10 am

    Feeding the chicken’s is an awesome thing. I think I will do that when I grow up as well.

  2. 2 brandiandboys
    May 7, 2008 at 7:59 pm

    Thanks for visiting my blog and for your encouragement to the “trying for a 4th to get a girl” question! I’m having fun blogging, but it has only been a week!!!!


Leave a Reply

time flies

May 2008
S M T W T F S
« Apr   Jun »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031
Follow enjoying the ride… on WordPress.com

enter your email

Join 1,208 other followers

when I wrote my stuff

Stuff others seem interested in


