24
May
08

No Longer Grounded

 

I wish I could remember exactly when I stopped climbing trees. It was probably when my family moved after I was in sixth grade. I don’t remember doing it after that. And maybe that’s also when I misplaced my child-like wonder and curiosity of the things around me. But a couple summers ago, I began the process of awaking from my deep sleep, and started taking notice once again. It’s still such an effort to stop and look, but it’s worth it. My children, on the other hand, seem to experience everything fully, and their gratitude shows in their simple excitement of what Abba’s created for them to enjoy.

 

When I was growing up, every summer my brother, sister, and I would just have to climb the only tree in our yard that was climbable. Unfortunately, this tree was covered with  poison ivy, but we braved it anyway, then paid the consequences later. But for some reason it was always worth it to us. Our memories of scratching and itching and being coated in calamine lotion seemed to lessen in our minds when the urge would hit, and we would climb, because there’s something about being a kid and having both feet off the ground.

 

About a week ago, the urge once again hit, and I climbed a tree when the boys were at school and the two little ones were napping. There’s something a little unusual, perhaps downright frightening about a 30 something climbing a tree, especially when there are no kids around to excuse this kind of behavior.  When I first attempted to climb, I thought I was going to have to get out a ladder just to get to the first branch, which kind of defeats the whole tree climbing experience. But somehow I hoisted myself up and actually found myself sitting on a limb. That’s as far as I got though. I was afraid if I went any higher and fell out of the tree, I might have to drag myself across the front yard like a wounded soldier. It was a little embarrassing to think that my neighbors might drive by and see me climbing a tree. But what can they say? “The crazy lady with 5 kids climbs trees when her kids aren’t around.” Yeah, just a little odd. But in my quest to see Abba in all things, especially in nature, I think I’m becoming a little less inhibited…and hopefully in this process of becoming fully alive I’m more in awe of who He is and what He’s put here for me to enjoy. When the boys got home from school, I climbed again with them…I’m amazed at how they can move so quickly around the tree with no shoes on while I sit contentedly perched on my branch.

 

A couple days ago, as I was getting back from my morning walk, I thought someone left a radio on because I heard singing, but I couldn’t figure out where it was coming from. As I was looking around, I noticed something red in one of the trees. There, sitting high up in the tree in his school clothes was Jonah, and he was singing.

 

I recently came across this passage in Ecclesiastes 9. “Seize life! Eat bread with

gusto…God takes pleasure in your pleasure! Each day is God’s gift. Make the most of each one! Whatever turns up, grab it and do it…heartily!” I felt God’s pleasure as I sat up in the tree and felt the wind blow and heard the leaves rustle. There’s something freeing about no longer being grounded…I felt a little bird-like.

 

 

7 Responses to “No Longer Grounded”


  1. May 24, 2008 at 7:54 pm

    You know, I don’t know if I’ve ever climbed a tree. I’m such a chicken that I like to keep my feet on the ground, but there are times I wish I could just let loose and do something fun/crazy/extraordinary or just plain not expected.

    Hmm…still don’t think I could climb a tree though. Do it once for me, please. 🙂

  2. 3 Anna
    May 25, 2008 at 9:16 pm

    Kim, you are such a God Hippey!! I love it, i will def. climb some trees with. Prego in all!!!

  3. 4 Anna
    May 25, 2008 at 9:17 pm

    I think I need to start checking what I write before I post it, haha I meant I will climb with you! I think you probably got it though. 🙂

  4. May 26, 2008 at 5:38 am

    Come on up and we’ll climb…that would be awesome! Knowing you, you’ll be way up there in that tree 🙂

  5. 6 Shel
    May 26, 2008 at 6:30 am

    Love it! Sounds so fun and freeing! I love to feel the breeze so fully when I’m high up in a tree. Keep ’em coming!

  6. 7 Rachael
    May 29, 2008 at 9:50 pm

    I’m this way with swinging! I I love to get on a a kids swing and just fly high, breathing in God’s fresh air and feeling the wind on my face! It’s amazing what acting like a kid can do for the soul!! Greatt stuff again, Kim!!


Leave a Reply

time flies

May 2008
S M T W T F S
« Apr   Jun »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031
Follow enjoying the ride… on WordPress.com

enter your email

Join 1,210 other followers

when I wrote my stuff


