05
Jun
08

Making Memories

 

I love to bowl. I can’t pinpoint exactly when I started to like bowling, but I think it has to do with those warm, fuzzy feelings I get of times long gone. I’m not a good bowler, but for me, that’s not really the point. I’ve just now come to realize that Jeff and I view bowling a little differently. He wants to knock down all the pins all the time. If I knock down 8 or 9 pins, I look at it like, “Look at all the pins I knocked down” and then start patting myself on the back. I think I’m just excited I didn’t put the ball in the gutter. My highest score ever was 121, and that was some crazy fluke in high school when I would go with my friends.

 

Bowling brings back good memories for me. When I was a Senior in high school, some of us would get out of school at noon and go out to eat and just hang out. We did stupid things like riding in the back of a pickup truck shooting water guns at people…this was before you had to wear seatbelts and before riding in the back of pickup trucks became illegal. We would also go bowling on occasion. Incidentally, I would never wear socks with my bowling shoes…I know, gross! I’m surprised I didn’t get some kind of foot fungus. My friends all thought it was pretty gross too, and one of them nicknamed me “Sugartoes” and then would proceed to make some nasty licking, slurping noises like he was licking my feet…But it was during one of those non-sock wearing times when I bowled my record score.

 

This morning as I was thinking about bowling, a memory flooded back to my mind. It was when my family would go visit my grandparents in Maryland.  Pop Pop took my Dad, brother, sister, and me bowling. I don’t know if we just went once or if we did it many times, but I remember going, and that was a special time for me, just being with Pop Pop and my Dad. Maybe it was at that point that I really started to like bowling. There’s something about associating good times in the past that draws me to the things I used to do.

 

A while back, Jeff and I took all of our kids bowling one Saturday, but having a 3 and a 4 year old bowl…well, it takes forever just for their ball to get down the lane. And sometimes the ball would get stuck smack dab in the middle of the lane. The older boys got a little impatient, but it was still fun, and we all had some good laughs watching the little ones bowl. This past school year, we let each of our older boys take a hooky day from school (we’re not really into the perfect attendance thing even though Jeff is the principal) and the boys and I ended up at the bowling alley where I’m in the process of making new bowling memories with them…

 

When I become a senior citizen, I plan on being at the bowling alley a lot. I will probably have my own bowling ball and my own shoes by then too. I’ve already informed my children that when they grow up and come to visit me they’ll have to look for me at the alley…’cause that’s where I’ll be…bowling with my new girlfriends.

 

A week ago, Jeff and I celebrated our 16th anniversary, and he took me bowling…hanging out with Jeff and bowling…I don’t remember a better anniversary.

 

2 Responses to “Making Memories”


  1. 1 Elizabeth
    August 15, 2008 at 9:57 pm

    Hey Kim,
    I’ve just spent way too long reading all of your blogs, but it has been really great to see inside your mind (a little scary) and heart (really great!!). By the way, I remember those bowling trips as well, and they do make very good memories. I got a pretty good laugh imagining you as a senior citizen bowling. At least, if you have your own shoes, you could go without socks and not have to worry about a foot fungus. Love you.

  2. August 15, 2008 at 10:02 pm

    Love you too, Lizzy! I miss you.


Leave a Reply

time flies

June 2008
S M T W T F S
« May   Jul »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  
Follow enjoying the ride… on WordPress.com

enter your email

Join 1,210 other followers

when I wrote my stuff

Stuff others seem interested in


