09
Jun
08

Moving Mountains

This afternoon, I found an inchworm crawling on me. When I knocked him off, he fell onto my paper. I tried to knock him off my paper, and he clung to my fingers. When I knocked him off my hand, he made some kind of web (I didn’t even know they did this) and inched his way back up to my hand…he did this twice. Persistent little sucker.

Yesterday, in church we sang the words, “My Savior, He can move the mountains. My God is mighty to save.” This is the second time we’ve sung that song in a couple of weeks, so when a song is repeated like that, I know this is one way Abba reveals His love for me, and I know I’m supposed to pay attention.

I’ve been wrestling a lot lately about God’s glory. God’s Glory = ? I think I’ve been trying to find a noun to describe it. I haven’t found one yet that fits. I see Abba’s glory in His creation, but I think there’s more to it than that. St. Irenaeus said, “The glory of God is man fully alive.” Maybe that’s part of it…Abba’s best, His ultimate creation, the being that He created in His own image—man…living, really living. I don’t think I’ve seen too many of those fully alive people around. John 10:10 says, I have come so that they may have life and that they may have it more abundantly.

Our pastor is doing a series called SYNC. The question that has been asked is, “Do I really want to know…experience…God?” Or am I stalled in my spiritual walk? For me, stalled is what I would consider wilderness living, when I don’t really have the desire to follow Christ, when I’m stuck in my busy little world pursuing anything and everything but Him. I feel like I’m coming out of my wilderness…I know it because I’m beginning to desire Him more and more…He’s once again moving mountains in my life.

So, inchworms, mountains, God’s glory…I don’t even think all these things even relate to each other. But right now, I am determined to know Abba and His glory. I’m going to be that inchworm that fights to crawl back up even in my stalled wilderness times when I don’t really even think He’s what I want. But, really, it’s not about me or what I do or even what I want, because my persistence will fail, and this whole journey is not about me boot strapping. I know that Jesus moves the mountains…the obstacles, the hindrances, the sin…maybe not in one big push, maybe little by little. I’ve already seen some of my mountains moved. Being afraid of God is one in particular that’s been moved for me. I grew up believing God was a punishing, judgmental Being who was ready to zap me with a lightning bolt anytime I stepped out of line, but now I see Him as my Abba who loves me more than I can possibly imagine…He showed me He is mighty to save…even from myself and my perceptions of Him. There are some big obstacles within myself, but I’m beginning to see some of these mountains being slowly moved, and I’m in awe of what He is doing. God’s glory…hopefully I’ll know it when I see it. But right now, I’m busy keeping my eyes open wide and my ears eagerly listening because I don’t want to miss a thing. I want to be one of those fully alive people. Today, my desire is to know Christ above all else and once again, that’s a God-thing in itself.

2 Responses to “Moving Mountains”


  1. June 11, 2008 at 8:36 pm

    Kim, the SYNC series has really been an eye opener for me. I have been so amazed with how clearly God is speaking to me through this series. Very exciting.

    Glad you’re enjoying it too! Would love to meet you one Sunday. Just stop me if you see me, I’m the one with the three wild boys within a 12 foot circumference.

  2. June 11, 2008 at 10:54 pm

    I would love to meet you too! We’re going to try to make it to the picnic on Sunday, but we have a wedding at 3 ..we’re trying to figure out how to fit everything in…I’ll be the one with 5 wild kids, one that’s almost as tall as me…very disconcerting…

    We have really enjoyed being at Cross Point the last few months. Pete’s messages have struck a chord with both Jeff and me.

    Looking forward to eventually meeting you and yours.


Leave a Reply

time flies

June 2008
S M T W T F S
« May   Jul »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  
Follow enjoying the ride… on WordPress.com

enter your email

Join 1,208 other followers

when I wrote my stuff

Stuff others seem interested in


