03
Aug
08

Do Not Be Afraid (part 2)

 

I walk nearly every morning. It’s my devotion time with Abba. I commune with Him in the world He’s created for me to enjoy. Since I started walking the end of April, I have always carried a stick with me. My oldest son Jesse actually fixed up a stick for me to use, but I have a couple other sticks that sit in the shed just in case my regular one disappears. With 5 kids, you just never know what happens to stuff.

 

Walking with my stick came to bring me a certain security. I knew that if I was faced with trouble, the human kind or the dog kind, I could at least pretend to defend myself. At first, I really thought my stick was about protection, but I realized several weeks ago that I had come to place an unhealthy dependency on always having my stick.

 

A couple months ago, I also adopted a spirit of fear about walking down one of the three dead end streets in my neighborhood. This is an example of an unwarranted fear, because fear of walking down this street was based on nothing. Nothing had happened on this street…I hadn’t even run into any animals on this street other than a fox and a rabbit. This is an example of me listening to the enemy, who I know has already been defeated, but has a loud obnoxious voice that told me that there was something down that road that I should be afraid of.

 

But a couple weeks ago, I felt like Abba was telling me that I needed to trust Him, to trust that whatever happens to me is from Him, which in theory is great, until He then told me to go down that street that I was so fearful about. I cannot describe the fear that took hold of me, but I walked down it anyway, and as I walked down it, Abba brought this verse to mind, “Yea, though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil, for thou art with me.” I was desperately trying to drown out the voices that were telling me there was something to be afraid of and fully embrace Abba’s presence.  When I finished walking down that street, I was glad to have obeyed Abba’s voice, but I was relieved to be done with that street for the day.

 

But then, I knew Abba was telling me to walk down that street again for the second time that day, but this time He told me to go without my stick. This was a matter of trust for me. Was I really going to listen to His voice, the one that says, “Do not be afraid”?  When I laid down my stick that day, I laid down my security, my comfort, my dependency in myself at the end of the street and walked down that road trusting that Abba was right there with me. This time the verse, “For God has not given us a spirit of fear, but of power, and of love, and of a sound mind” came to my heart.  But I have to admit I was relieved when I was able to get back to the end of the street and retrieve my stick once more.

 

The next morning when I got up to go walk I went to the shed to grab my stick, but none of the sticks were where they always were. I laughed out loud, because I knew not being able to find ANY of the sticks was one of those funny God-things. He reminded me that I still have a lot of trust in myself, and for me that’s what the stick represented at the time. So, the last few weeks, I haven’t been walking with my stick. I just know that Abba wants me to trust Him above all else…dependency…that’s really what He’s looking for.

 

To step out of my comfort zone

Into the realm of the unknown where Jesus is

And He’s holding out His hand

 

The voice of truth says, “Do not be afraid.”

And the voice of truth says, “This is for My glory”

Out of all the voices calling out to me

I will choose to listen and believe the voice of truth.

-“Voice of Truth” by Casting Crowns

 

Yep, there are many voices, and they are loud and sometimes scary, but the one I want to hear the most is Jesus’ voice. And the more I lay down my junk and my dependency in myself, the more clearly I hear His voice, and He really is whispering “Do not be afraid.”

1 Response to “Do Not Be Afraid (part 2)”


  1. August 3, 2008 at 8:07 am

    About a week or so ago, a dog started barking and coming after me. I ended up picking up a rock as I was headed up the hill just in case I ran into this dog again, which I did, but I only had one rock, so if I missed I was in trouble. I started yelling, “NO, NO, NO,” at this dog, as I was leaning down to grab a handful of pebbles that I could toss at thedog. I didn’t have to use my rocks because he backed off, but I was still a little scared. So as I was walking with Jeff a couple days ago, he told me I probably needed to start taking my stick with me again because sticks are way better than rocks when it comes to dogs. 🙂


Leave a Reply

time flies

August 2008
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  
Follow enjoying the ride… on WordPress.com

enter your email

Join 1,208 other followers

when I wrote my stuff

Stuff others seem interested in


