13
Aug
08

Owning My Broken Road

 

A little over a year ago, we moved from Tuscaloosa to Nashville for Jeff to become Headmaster at his alma mater Pioneer Christian Academy. What an absolute whirlwind (some might say nightmare) our lives were last year this time. Right up until the middle of July we thought we were going to be in Tuscaloosa doing church work. Then, we got the call that brought us to Nashville.

 

We sold our house two weeks later on July 31 and moved to Nashville August 2, only to put most of our stuff into storage. The school had already started their teacher in-service which technically Jeff was supposed to be in charge of since he was now the principal, but Jeff and I were busy dashing around town trying to find a house to live in, since all seven of us were living with Jeff’s parents in a 1 almost 2 bedroom house.

 

In two weeks, we not only found a house, but the seller immediately accepted our low-ball offer, and we were able to move into our house two weeks later. I knew in the middle of all the craziness that Abba was guiding us through it all…and I could feel His presence. I don’t always see Him working as clearly as I did last summer, but everything was so insane that I knew it had to be from Him, because who else would come up with a plan like that? But I can honestly say that in the middle of all the chaos I was at rest.  One writer says that her two favorite prayers are “Help me, help me, help me” and “Thank you, thank you, thank you.” Those prayers sum it up for me as well.

 

Even though our move was a miracle, and I took it for what it was at the time, I still refused to embrace last school year. I grew up as the principal’s daughter…I didn’t ever think I would be a principal’s wife. I was willing to move to Nashville because it’s where we were supposed to be, and I knew it, but I struggled and I wrestled and I failed to “own” the people and the place.  

 

Sometimes when I see Abba move me to a new situation or a new place, I often have this faulty thinking that the new situation will be better than the one I left, and if it’s not better, I convince myself that I somehow missed the right road, and then berate myself accordingly, because Abba certainly wouldn’t move me to a more difficult place, especially if I’m listening and doing what He tells me to do.

 

But it was a more difficult place in a lot of ways, and it was a hard year for many different reasons, and even though I learned a lot, I was already dreading what this school year might look like. But I was recently talking to a friend on the phone, and I was starting to whine about my situation and I was talking about how I couldn’t go through another year like last year, “Because last year…” This friend cut me off and said, “This isn’t last year.” Right then, the verse that came to mind was Phil. 3:14 which says, …forgetting those things which are behind and reaching forward to those things which are ahead. This was Abba speaking directly to me, saying, “Kim, you’ve got to let this stuff go and own the road you’re on.”  

 

I recently found a quote that I’ve been chewing on for a couple of weeks now, and it says, “God’s will is 98 percent about who you are…not where you are or whom you are with.” If I allow this thought to sink in and take root in my heart, then I won’t be so easily convinced by the enemy’s voice that I’m in the wrong place or with the wrong people…so as broken as my road is, I’m convinced more than ever that I’m on the right one…“Every long lost dream led me to where You are.”

 

That I may know Him…and isn’t that really the whole point?

 

5 Responses to “Owning My Broken Road”


  1. 1 Lillian
    August 14, 2008 at 8:30 am

    Kim, this is such a beautiful post. There is so much truth in your words, and your heart comes through radiantly. Maybe it’s because I’m such a Rascal Flatts fan, but that song has always spoken to me, and never more so than now. Praying for you, my sweet friend.

  2. 2 lhug143
    August 14, 2008 at 11:12 am

    hey girl, thanks so much for your blog, the song (which was perfect) and your heart! If you’ve read my blog recently you’ll see I’m following in some of your footsteps or walking right along with you girl! …..from a distance, but not really because we share the same Father….a cord of 3 will not broken: me, you and God, Love ya lots and miss you!

  3. 3 lhug143
    August 14, 2008 at 11:12 am

    will not be broken, sorry

  4. 4 Conny Dempsey
    August 14, 2008 at 4:03 pm

    Kim

    Kim: You are such a goow writer. You have certainly shared thoughts that i too, will ponder.

    Amen

  5. 5 Evelyn
    August 18, 2008 at 5:29 pm

    Kim, we are so thankful that you were obedient to the call of God on your lives. We are so thankful that God has brought you here “for such a time as this”. Thank you for sharing your heart with us. I hope we don’t always seek what you or your family can do to help us in the ministry, but, that we would also seek to exhort and strengthen you in the faith also. A ministry can easily become a give, give, give situation with not much getting in return. I know our rewards come from God, but I believe we all have to help and strengthen each other. We’re all in this journey of life together. Your family have endeared themselves to many people. I hope that we can bless your family as much as all of you have blessed us. Keep smiling.:) We thank God for all of you and love you in the Lord. 🙂


Leave a Reply

time flies

August 2008
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  
Follow enjoying the ride… on WordPress.com

enter your email

Join 1,208 other followers

when I wrote my stuff

Stuff others seem interested in


