25
Feb
09

Learning Love and Forgiveness

Tonight, I got very angry at my daughter Julia, who is about to turn 6. She’s feisty in every way, and I love that about her. But, tonight, she had taken my phone and my camera and had hidden them, and the whole family was searching and eventually found them, the phone in her top bunk and the camera in her closet.

But then I realized that my GPS was also missing. And we suspected that she had lifted that as well. But she denied it adamantly. I was yelling and pointing my finger at her and threatened her with not being able to go to her friend’s party on Saturday. And she looked at me and said she didn’t take it.

But she did take it and had hidden it in the hall closet where Jake eventually found it. So I raged at her some more about stealing AND lying. And she said she forgot. And then she said that I thought I was smarter than her and thought I could know what was inside her head, but that I really couldn’t and that she really had forgotten. And I told her she must not know God because she would feel badly about stealing things and lying about it (yes, I really said this…cringe).

So just a little while ago, she came in as I was typing about my raging lunacy on the computer, and she handed me two notes, which I laid on the desk while I grabbed her onto my lap and threw my arms around her and cried, and her big brown eyes also filled with tears, and she cried a little too. And we hugged, and we held each other for a while.

Then, she turned back to the desk and pulled the notes toward me. I opened the first one, and it said, “I love you Jeses” with a stick figure of Jesus beside the words. And the second one said, “I love you Kim” with a stick figure of me drawn beside it. Really, it’s that simple…Love Abba…Love your neighbor…and I’m realizing more and more that loving Abba IS loving those around me…because I think that’s what Jesus meant when He said, “What you do to the least of these you do to me.”

Maybe, next time, if I stop for a second before I fly off the handle, I’ll see Jesus’s eyes in my daughter’s face…and remember and learn from Julia’s simple act of love and forgiveness toward me.

3 Responses to “Learning Love and Forgiveness”


  1. March 1, 2009 at 8:49 am

    Just passing by.Btw, your website have great content!

    _________________________________
    Making Money $150 An Hour

  2. March 4, 2009 at 6:13 pm

    sniff..sniff… you always do that to me!!! how true is this!!!!

  3. March 11, 2009 at 7:11 am

    I have flown off the handle many times as a parent and used guilt to “motivate” my kids. So your not alone there. When I do calm down and realize what I’ve down I try to apoligize.

    The great thing is that you reconciled so quickly. What a great example of forgivness and love.


Leave a Reply

time flies

February 2009
S M T W T F S
« Jan   Mar »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
Follow enjoying the ride… on WordPress.com

enter your email

Join 1,208 other followers

when I wrote my stuff

Stuff others seem interested in


