12
Mar
09

25 Not So Random Things About Me

Ok, so this is that “25 random things about me” list that some people on facebook are doing. And even though I’m not much of a bandwagon kind of gal, I thought it might be interesting to write these things down…

1. I don’t have time to do this. I should be in bed or doing something useful like cleaning my house or something.
2. I dislike cleaning.
3. I love to write, but I only discovered this a year ago.
4. I really like the Nashville library loan system. I can get whatever I want sent to me at my little po-dunk Goodlettsville branch. This makes me very happy in a nerdy kinda way.
5. I always like living wherever I am…happens to be Nashville now, and I hope we stay, but I’ve found it’s not really up to me where we are.
6. I like one on one deep conversations…can’t stand small talk…I’ll show you mine if… 🙂
7. I find songs for each time in my life or maybe they find me…and I will play them 100 times in a row (drives Jeff, Jesse, and Jake crazy…sometimes Jake won’t ride with me to school because he knows I’m playing the same song.)
8. My favorite ice cream is still chocolate peanut butter ice cream. The summer I spent as a camp counselor in New Hampshire, Mary (my best friend from college) and I tried all of New Hampshire’s chocolate peanut butter ice cream.
9. The last two years have been really hard, and I’ve fallen into my share of pits only to be rescued again and again, but I’ve found that Jesus’ love never fails. So it’s been worth the pain and frustration to grow and truly experience Him.
10. I really like my nose ring. I like to see people’s reaction, especially those who still have issues with stuff like that…lol…yes, Jesus loves me too…even with the nose ring.
11. My kids are digging BIG holes in the back yard (I think it’s almost to the point where a body can fit in some of them), and I find it amusing…I told Jeff he should have built them a sandbox.
12. I love being outdoors, walking up my hill, sitting in my swing, lying in my hammock, watching the things Abba’s created for me to enjoy, talking with friends.
13. I have a streak of white hair that I’ve had since I was 12 due to a sunspot that I got the summer I became a believer…coincidence? maybe.
14. I’ve been listening to the song “Traveling Light” by Joel Hansen and Sara Groves for an hour now.
15. I like laughing. And I also like to be laughed at. You’re automatically my friend if you laugh at my quirkiness.
16. I am very much “out of sight, out of mind.”
17. I don’t plan on ever dyeing my hair…I’m way too cheap, and I know it would just look like a bad bottle of shoe polish with 2 inch gray roots.
18. My whole life up till now, I thought that I was like my dad, only to find out that I’m not at all like him…my dad is probably horrified that I would even compare myself to him, especially with the condition my house is always in…lol
19. I want to enjoy the ride…every day…”The glory of God is man fully alive.”
20. Jeff , Jesse, Jonah, Jake, Julia, and Jeremiah are Abba’s gifts to me…I wish I could remember and appreciate this all the time.
21. I have a lot of fear still, but I’m wrestling with that…His perfect love casts out fear.
22. I sometimes compare myself to trees…there’s one in the middle of a field that is all broken apart, and it reminds me of me. It’s also dead…yeah, so I can go a little too far metaphorically with these things.
23. I love the beach…I think it’s the feeling of freedom and the wide open spaces and sand between my toes and salty water and watching my kids dig large holes….hmmm…this seems to be a pastime with them.
24. “I don’t want to lead and I don’t want to be led”…a description from my newfound personality type that fits me perfectly…when it comes to legalistic kind of junk, I will most certainly not do what I’m told or expected to do…for six years when we lived in Alabama, there was nothing and no one to rebel against…in Nashville, it’s becoming almost non-existent…I’m grateful.
25. I’m really trying to live in the present, not yearn for or mourn the past, and not worry about the future…I’m just not interested in picking up any more stones along the way…wanna travel light from now on.

5 Responses to “25 Not So Random Things About Me”


  1. March 14, 2009 at 9:30 pm

    I do the same thing! I latch on to one certain song and play it over and over and over again. My spirit soars and it is the song of my heart at the time, but the kids don’t understand. LOL!

  2. 2 Wendy
    March 16, 2009 at 11:12 am

    You are such an encouragement. I just discovered your little website here. Number one, I am incredibly impressed with your writing and how you can put life down so poignantly on “paper”. Number two, I am a bit jealous of that, okay, in a good, you-inspire-me kind of way. 🙂

    The Lord has seen fit to bring my ex-husband back into my life in the very bad way, through the court system, thus challenging all of what I thought was faith in my Father. I am so weak, and am finding out how much fear is gripping my life and hindering the relationship with Him that I long for, how it is damaging my relationship with my wonderful new husband, and a host of other future things to regret if I don’t step off that cliff my pastor is counseling me on and allow Him to prove Himself to me. . . again. “Oh ye, of little faith”. Thank you for sharing your life on this space. God showed me another way He is speaking. . . just today through this word. . . through you. You are still such a friend. 🙂

  3. March 17, 2009 at 6:12 am

    Oh, Friend, I am so sorry to hear about all you are going through. Francine Rivers has a fiction book…I cannot remember which one…that says something to the effect of stepping off the cliff and expecting God to catch her in the free fall….I can never remember exact quotes or even what my children say unless I write it down.

    I miss you, Wendy, but I know you will come through this stronger in Him and more full of faith and love…but surely there’s an easier way~! The verse that came to me (don’t know the reference, of course) is when Jesus says to Peter, that He has allowed Satan to sift him as wheat, and that when Peter returns to Him, he is going to be able to strengthen his brothers. Love you, friend.

  4. 4 Terry Waldrop
    March 24, 2009 at 2:28 pm

    Thank you for writing these stories….I’ve read most of them and I’ve enjoyed all of them.

  5. 5 Wendy
    April 3, 2009 at 9:08 pm

    Thank you friend, for your encouragement. You are reaching out so much and touching hearts through this ministry of yours~ (mine included 🙂 ) I love reading about your journey! Love you dearly, friend!


Leave a Reply

time flies

March 2009
S M T W T F S
« Feb   May »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  
Follow enjoying the ride… on WordPress.com

enter your email

Join 1,210 other followers

when I wrote my stuff


