23
Sep
09

The Princess and the Process

We spent our summer remodeling our kitchen…well, it’s still not done yet, but it’s close. I didn’t actually do much of the work…other than paint the cabinets at the very beginning of the project. I mainly just tried to stay out of the way while my husband and father-in-law did the work. I was doing pretty well until they put the drywall in, and then I thought I would lose my mind. I walked around huffing and sighing and huffing about the drywall dust that covered everything in the downstairs of my house. In the middle of this mess, we started home schooling. Since I’m a single focused girl, a seriously NON-multi-tasker, I had a really, really hard time.

About one-fourth of the way into the process, I had had enough and took the kids and went to stay with my brother and his family in Indiana for a few days and was secretly hoping that when I got back the kitchen would be mostly completed. It wasn’t. I came back and didn’t have a sink for over a week (we ate a lot of burritos, corn dogs, and PBJ’s on paper plates). I threatened Jeff to go stay with someone else while he and his dad continued to work. I think he would have loved for me to go away again…I was just not that nice to live with.

Now, as we’re nearing the end of it all, I’m kind of sad…NOT because it’s almost over, but because I really thought I would be able to handle the inconveniences of remodeling the kitchen better than I did…I really thought that it wasn’t going to be that big of a deal and that I would handle it reasonably well…I kind of pictured myself like one of those tough, enduring pioneer women…HAH! What I did learn about myself is that I’m not a process kind of gal when it comes to home improvement. Next time there’s a remodeling thing, I want to go to Disney World and let other people come in and do it for me. You know, a “move that bus” kind of thing.

3 Responses to “The Princess and the Process”


  1. September 23, 2009 at 5:38 pm

    I’m all for that. Bring on the bus!!

  2. October 3, 2009 at 3:56 pm

    But it was so worth the wait. It looks so good now. I think you did a pretty good job of enduring, but then again I didn’t have to live with you. LOL! I heard you made a pretty good roast during this time.

  3. 3 LeeAnne
    October 5, 2009 at 7:26 pm

    You’re so funny girl and we are way too much alike. We, too, went through a kitchen remodeling, on a smaller scale but still…..ironic, right? Yeah, sure! I didn’t become psychotic or anything but it was hard to paint and wonder if we were doing it for us or for the people who would buy our house should we need to foreclose, ugh! Bittersweet. Now, it’s just “oh so sweet!” Praise God! (btw, you did get my Hughes’ newsletter, right, can’t remember – Scott got a f/t job – only 14 months of aaaaaaahhhhhhh!)


Leave a Reply

time flies

September 2009
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Oct »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  
Follow enjoying the ride… on WordPress.com

enter your email

Join 1,208 other followers

when I wrote my stuff

Stuff others seem interested in


