30
Oct
09

“I’m Not Afraid of Who You Are”

Jeff and I feel “the call” to do a church in Goodlettsville, not because Nashville is hurting for churches, because it’s really not. But for a while, Abba has put the church thing in both of our hearts, and so we’re pursuing it. Jeff’s been gifted with teaching and counseling, and I’ve been gifted with quality time. And, yes, I know that quality time is not technically a gift; it’s a love language, but I’m claiming it as my gift.

One of my favorite things to do in the world is to sit down with someone and share journeys…and just see where they connect. Because I think that’s what we’re called to do…connect with each other…share each others other’s burdens.

I’m really open about my own story. But someone just recently told me that I shouldn’t be as open as I am with people, that I should only have a couple friends who really know me who I can trust to not repeat the things I share. Because, I was told, if I reveal myself, especially the ugly stuff, then what I say might get misconstrued…that someone might say something bad about me. And, yes, that’s already happened. That’s even happened with my blog. And that’s ok. Because there are always going to be those people who want to throw stones. They’ve got their ugly stuff too…they’re just not willing to admit it or share it yet.

In the Bible, when the Pharisees caught the woman in the act of adultery and brought her to Jesus to stone, Jesus told them that those who were without sin could be the first ones to throw a stone at her. They didn’t throw any stones that day. Instead, they left. The Bible points out that the older men were the first to walk away. Interesting…maybe once they began recalling their own sin, they could no longer condemn her…and they knew that they didn’t want their sin revealed.

I believe we’re called to share not only our victories but also our struggles. When we admit our struggles, the struggles don’t magically vanish, but they also don’t hold the same power that they once did. That’s what happens when you bring things to the light. James 5:16 says to pray for each other but also to confess our sins to each other so that you can live together whole and healed.

But the longer we keep our junk to ourselves…the longer we keep putting our masks back over our faces…the longer we pretend to have it all together, the more we allow Satan to come in and perpetuate his lies. Satan wants us to hide from each other and become isolated and not live in real Christian community by either trying to make us think that our junk is worse than other people’s junk, or if you’re stuck in the pride of legalism that your junk isn’t nearly as bad as anyone else’s. But both are lies from the enemy, and both lies cause isolation.

For years, I was afraid to be who I really was…afraid and ashamed to honestly reveal my struggles with the people around me. And you may be in that place where you feel it isn’t safe to reveal your stuff. Because you know if you were to reveal who you really are, you won’t be accepted and loved. It’ll be just the opposite. You’ll be rejected and judged. And that’s a hard place to be. If you’re in that spot, all I have to say is, “Run!” Run into the arms of your loving Abba who knows all your junk and loves you anyway. And He will show you the path out of the legalism and bondage. He will set you free.

I invite people to join me in my story…the good and the bad…the struggles and the victories. I hope you’ll share your story with someone. We all have a story to share. Our stories help other people know that they are not alone…that they don’t have to be afraid or ashamed…that we are all human…that we all struggle and that it’s ok.

And so I guess that’s what I want. I want to be involved in a church…in a community where people are not afraid to reveal who they really are…where maybe the people who have been hurt by the church can come and share where they are…where can lick their wounds and start over. That’s where Jeff and I were eight years ago. And we’ve been called to share that story with others.

Let’s fling open wide the closet doors. I’m not afraid of the skeletons in your closet, and I’m not afraid of those in mine. Find someone to share your story with. They need to hear it, and you need to share it. Be real. Be honest. Be open. It’s freeing for everyone.

5 Responses to ““I’m Not Afraid of Who You Are””


  1. 1 Britt
    October 30, 2009 at 1:25 pm

    I’m with you sister!

  2. 2 meesha
    October 30, 2009 at 1:36 pm

    kim’s got junk in her trunk! HAHAHAHAHA!!! i love all your junk — keep sharing. you and jeff are on the right path. we love ya!
    meesha

  3. October 30, 2009 at 6:21 pm

    I love you and am so glad to call you my sister!!!! This is exactly what the church needs….transparency!!!

  4. November 11, 2009 at 10:42 pm

    I completely agree. Transparency first with God, then each other. What our enemy wants is for each of us, privately, to believe that we are alone, isolated, somehow worse than anyone else. He separates the sheep then slaughters it. Thank you.

  5. November 13, 2009 at 1:28 am

    So very well said Kim! Please tell Jeff I’d love to hear an update whenever he gets bored. Tell him to reach out on FB . . .

    Praying you guys are well!

    David Baker


Leave a Reply

time flies

October 2009
S M T W T F S
« Sep   Nov »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031
Follow enjoying the ride… on WordPress.com

enter your email

Join 1,208 other followers

when I wrote my stuff

Stuff others seem interested in


