16
Mar
10

Pink Birthday Surprises

Julia turned 7 today. She came into my bedroom this morning and said, “Thank you, Mom” and gave me a big hug.

Julia is a tomboy and can hang with the best of the boys, and I was recently telling someone I wouldn’t want to tangle with her in an alley. She’s just tough…she has to be…four brothers. But she loves pink, and she would love to be a girly girl (I haven’t told her that she probably doesn’t fall into that category). She loves frou frou stuff, but it doesn’t change the fact that she likes to climb trees and run and jump off things and play in the mud and usually gets dirtier than her brothers. I love her spunk…Jeff calls it gumption.

Julia wanted a pink bedroom for her birthday, so a couple weeks ago she and I went to Lowe’s, got a can of paint and spent that Saturday painting her room pale pink. Jeremiah and she used to share a yellow bedroom, but Jeremiah moved in with Jesse a couple months ago, and Julia loves having her own room, especially now that it’s pink.

I wanted to surprise her for her birthday, so after Julia went to sleep last night, I moved her out of her bed into our bed so Jeff and I could finish decorating her bedroom. I wanted her to wake up surprised.

I had gotten her some pink polka dot sheets that match her comforter, and we made princess drapes at the top of her bed out of sheer curtains that hang down from the ceiling. I had also gotten her fuchsia curtains which make the whole bedroom and hallway turn a bright pink blinding color when there is any light at all outside, which make her brothers gag a little. When Jesse walked out of his bedroom he chuckled and said, “Oh, my gosh.” Yeah, it’s a little shocking.

So when Julia woke up this morning, and she came into my bedroom and told me thank you, I was amazed at how grown up she sounded. But she is seven, you know, and seven is older than six…and that sounds exactly like something she would say. After she hugged me, I asked her what she was going to do. She said she was going back to bed. I’m sure the blinding pink woke her up earlier than she needed to be. I can picture her going back to bed, just looking around at her new bedroom with a big smile on her big 7 year old face.

Julia and Patrick (neighbor friend)

I think it was more spit than air...

princess bedroom at night...no blinding pink light

Happy Birthday, Julia

2 Responses to “Pink Birthday Surprises”


  1. 1 Theresa
    March 18, 2010 at 8:35 pm

    It looks adorable!! I’ll have to walk over and look at it. I love the way Patrick is looking at Julia in that first picture.

  2. 2 Anna
    July 15, 2010 at 3:32 pm

    Kim,
    I love this. Josie is so much like Julia. I just love little girls with spunk. They are awesome. She is beautiful. Its been so long since I have seen you kids. She is all grown up!


Leave a Reply

time flies

March 2010
S M T W T F S
« Feb   Apr »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  
Follow enjoying the ride… on WordPress.com

enter your email

Join 1,208 other followers

when I wrote my stuff

Stuff others seem interested in


