17
Mar
10

The Add-on

Jeff, Jesse, and I recently went to a funeral. I signed the guest book and then turned to ask Jesse if he wanted me to sign it for him or if he wanted to do it himself. Jesse tells me to go ahead and sign it for him. I had already signed it Jeff and Kim Darnell, so when he said he wanted me to sign for him I added “and Jesse” to our names. The book now read Jeff and Kim Darnell and Jesse. Jesse starts laughing, mocking me rather, in his laid-back thirteen year old fashion and keeps repeating over and over again “Jeff and Kim Darnell and Jesse.” I apologized because…well just because I didn’t want him to feel like I had just added him on as an afterthought…tagged on there at the end…kind of like a third-wheel…so little kiddish. He didn’t really care in the first place. He said he just thought it was funny.

So, yesterday, when we were having Julia’s birthday party, and the neighbors were over, and there was no room for Jesse at the island, I told Jesse he could sit with Jeff and me in the dining room, and he laughingly says, “Jeff and Kim Darnell and Jesse.”

Next time, he signs the book himself.

2 Responses to “The Add-on”


  1. 1 Wendy
    March 17, 2010 at 3:44 pm

    Very cute! 🙂

  2. 2 Theresa
    March 18, 2010 at 8:33 pm

    I’ve so done that before, but I guess good for me none of the kids are teenagers yet. Jesse is a cool kid. Shh! Don’t tell I called him a kid.


Leave a Reply

time flies

March 2010
S M T W T F S
« Feb   Apr »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  
Follow enjoying the ride… on WordPress.com

enter your email

Join 1,210 other followers

when I wrote my stuff


