05
Apr
10

One of Those Kim Things

Our church had a Good Friday service. It was a holy time remembering that Jesus had died that day for my own wretchedness. We sang, and Ray spoke, and we sang some more, and then we took Communion.

I grew up in Baptist churches where they pass out the elements on little platters, one that holds the wafers or broken up saltines (if that particular church did not opt to buy the wafers), and the other platter holds the little Communion cups. Many pews have places built into them near the hymnals where you can put the Communion cups after everyone has finished taking the Lord’s Supper together.

The deacons would pass out the wafers first; the pastor would read a few verses, and then the whole congregation would partake together. The men then pass out the juice; Scripture is read, and then everyone downs their tiny bit of juice. My brother used to make slurping noises trying to get every last bit of grape juice out of his cup. Then everyone places their little cup in its receptacle, and the Lord’s Supper is completed. It’s all very tidy and efficient.

Ever since we’ve been in Nashville, we’ve attended churches where you go forward during Communion, and you take the bread and then dip it in a cup of juice and then eat it as the pastor is saying words over you. It is a very solemn time in remembering that Jesus’s body was broken and His blood was shed for me. It takes some time to do Communion in this way because you have to get out of your seat and stand in line and take your turn. I don’t mind it. It always gives me good time to reflect, and then I like to watch people take Communion. I like the community aspect of it all.

So Friday night, we celebrated the Lord’s Supper. Jesse had already gone with a friend of his, and Jonah and Jake were behind Jeff and me. Jeff walked forward with me as I took my bread and then looked at Ray as he said the words over me. As I went to dip my bread into the juice, I dropped my bread into the cup. I felt my face grimace as I then proceeded to try to retrieve my floating bread out of the juice. Ray seemed oblivious to what had happened, and I didn’t want to look back up and draw more attention to what I had done. I was finally able to fish my bread out of the cup without knocking the whole cup over, and I retreated back to my seat as quickly as I could. As I sat back down I realized that anyone sitting on the side would have witnessed what I had just done. As I later told the story to the rest of my family, my older sons were horrified that I would do something so spastic in front of other people, but Jeff said to me that that was why he loved me so much.

I later told Ray what had happened at the Communion table. He thought it was funny but joked that maybe my dropping my bread in the cup was the one unforgivable sin…I said that the unforgivable sin was probably me trying to fish my bread out of the juice…

2 Responses to “One of Those Kim Things”


  1. 1 Beth
    April 5, 2010 at 12:57 pm

    That’s hilarious! I’ve always had a secret habit of giving the little cup a squeeze just to see how sturdy it is. I know one day, I will crush the cup and splatter grape juice all over myself, and of course, be mortified. I don’t know why I do it with the possibility of such embarrassment, but I do. At least yours was an accident and not stupidity. 🙂

    I think Jesus must love little moments like that. He probably would have responded the same way Jeff did.

  2. April 5, 2010 at 4:36 pm

    Beth, you are not alone in squeezing! Jeff’s aunt does that too, and one time it made a loud popping noise! 🙂


Leave a Reply

time flies

April 2010
S M T W T F S
« Mar   May »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  
Follow enjoying the ride… on WordPress.com

enter your email

Join 1,208 other followers

when I wrote my stuff

Stuff others seem interested in


