15
Oct
10

The One-Talent Girl

“For the kingdom of heaven is like a man traveling to a far country, who called his own servants and delivered his goods to them. And to one he gave five talents, to another two, and to another one, to each according to his own ability; and immediately he went on a journey.  (Matthew 25)

I was recently reading this passage, and it struck me that I’m the girl with the one talent. My husband is the five-talent guy. He’s been really blessed with God-given abilities. He’s a gifted speaker and musician. He’s a great small group leader, knowing just how to cut off the talker without them getting upset. He’s quick on his feet. And to top it all off, he’s smart. And he’s athletic. And the list goes on.

Seriously, I have none of these gifts…these talents. I get up in front of people and “deer in headlights” phrase comes to mind.  I won’t even talk about my musical ability because there is none. I’m not quick on my feet either…I beat myself up over what I should have said.  And I’m certainly not athletic (a stick rolled underneath my foot the other day at the soccer field, and I fell to the ground).  And I don’t have the smarts or the common sense either that I feel might be very beneficial to me at times. I’m not cutting myself down here, nor feeling sorry for myself; I’m just stating the facts. 

I’m not jealous of Jeff.  Because I know that to whom much is given much is required. So I can breathe a sigh of relief…but not really.

Just the other day,  it occurred to me that I’ve been kind of hiding behind my lack of talents and gifts…kind of hiding behind the five-talent dude that I’m blessed to share a life with, realizing that Abba is calling him to do something and supporting him in that, but thinking that it’s his thing because I don’t happen to be the one with the abundance of gifts.

In Matthew 25, Jesus goes on to say that the lord came back, and he wanted to find out what each of his servants had done with their talents. And whether or not you view the gifts as talents or money, it doesn’t really matter. The point is that the man who was given the one talent did nothing with his talent. In fact, he tells his master that he hid the talent because he was afraid.

What was the one-talent guy’s problem? Fear. And it’s the same with me. I’m called to love those around me. But sometimes, I’m just worried that I’ll reach out in love and be rejected, that I’ll get my hand slapped as I reach out to touch others. I find that I often hide behind my messy house or my lack of organization or my shy awkwardness that seems to come out of nowhere sometimes. But it all stems from fear.

I ask for courage. But still I struggle.

The old song “Trust and Obey” says, “Never fear, only trust and obey.” And I’m not talking about obeying a bunch of rules here. I’m talking about trusting and obeying the Father. And there’s a big difference.

These days, I’m just tuning my ears into my Abba and trying to listen and obey. Sometimes I obey. Sometimes fear gets the best of me, and I refuse to submit. Obedience isn’t easy. It means losing my life…It means taking up my cross daily. But the benefits? Jesus states that when you lose your life, that’s when you get it back…abundantly…because it’s His life.

2 Responses to “The One-Talent Girl”


  1. 1 Wendy
    October 15, 2010 at 5:34 pm

    Well, Kim, you brought me to tears. Yep. That was touching. Loved it. Felt (lovingly) chided by it (from the Father, not you. You are simply the adorable messenger) Thanks for being willing to obey and send this out. I love hearing God’s messege through the fingers of my sweet college roommate.

    Thanks again~~

    Love,

    Wendy

  2. 2 Joy Christofferson
    October 15, 2010 at 9:11 pm

    Your words took me back a lot of years. I was a counselor at a Christian girls camp in Michigan, though the campers were from the Chicago area. I felt totally unprepared when I went, and totally overwhelmed when I met the talented leaders. So many were blessed with multiple talents – singing, swimming, horseback riding, archery, riflery, crafts, etc. I could do none of these. I definitely felt I did not belong and asked the Lord why He had brought me there. He answered – who else can the poor klutzes relate to? Many campers were talented like the leaders, but others were no talent like me. They could look at me and say, “I guess I’m OK after all, because Dipper(my camp name) can’t do those things either.” I survived it, learned a lot of great songs to use at my church, made friends with whom I am still in contact and the next year became business manager and registrar of the camp. Never the song leader, waterfront teacher, stable director, never shot anyones eye out or taught them the constellations or helped them weave a basket. God had a different type of job for me. I am positve He has a very important place for you – that is obvious with the family you take care of. I know God will direct you into the exact place He has for you and you will use your one talent or your 10 that you did not know you had. God bless you.


Leave a Reply

time flies

October 2010
S M T W T F S
« Sep   Nov »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  
Follow enjoying the ride… on WordPress.com

enter your email

Join 1,210 other followers

when I wrote my stuff

Stuff others seem interested in


