22
Oct
10

the sound of freedom

This past weekend, we were at Jeff’s Grandma’s 90th birthday party bash. It was fun getting to see everyone and honor Grandma for her journey. Jeff has a rather large extended family. In fact, it’s hard in such a short time frame to be able to talk to most of the family beyond the usual chit-chat.

But, one of the best parts for me was when I got a chance to talk with Jeff’s Uncle Mike. Uncle Mike is kind of a rabble-rouser in the family, and I thought it would be fun to tell him about a dream that Jeff had just had. Jeff had dreamed that the entire Darnell family was mad at me (all 150 of them), and the only one who wasn’t was Uncle Mike. And in the dream, Uncle Mike came up to me and told me it would be ok.

So, after I told Uncle Mike about Jeff’s dream, he started laughing and saying that Jeff’s dream was prophetic. I was kind of horrified. So I told him that I guessed I was going to have to mind my p’s and q’s.

He told me, “If you mind your p’s and q’s, then you won’t be true to yourself.”

I said, “You know, you’re right, and I’ve just kind of figured out who I really am in the last couple of years.”

He looked me right in the eyes and said, “And do you like her?”

My response: “Yes, I like her a lot. She’s a lot more fun and a lot more free.” Laughter.

I’ve found that some people are afraid of other people’s freedom. They try to discourage them or control them. The Pharisees did that to Jesus. They showed disdain for the freedom that His Father had given Him. They tried to draw the people away from Him. They tried to shut him up and squelch His freedom. But it didn’t stop Him. He didn’t care what they thought.

But freedom…real, true freedom in Christ attracts others. It doesn’t necessarily attract those who have it all together or the religious…they’re too busy still keeping the rules and following the traditions. But freedom…it attracts the ragamuffins, who realize they have nothing in and of themselves. It attracts the ones who have had everything, and life has just somehow come up short. It attracts those who desire to be free but just haven’t seen it or known it yet.

I’m following Jesus because that’s where freedom and life are. I’m one of many ragamuffins who have found freedom, or maybe it found me.  I don’t have to pretend any longer to be something I’m not because I’ve been unshackled and am no longer living in bondage, mine or anyone else’s.

And I don’t know if anyone was mad at me this past weekend or not, but Abba spoke to me through Uncle Mike, and I stopped caring what other people thought and threw those p’s and q’s right out the window.

I know who my Father is…and isn’t that what really matters?

For you were called to be free. (Galatians 5:13)

My chains are gone…I’ve been set free. Once again, laughter.

 

1 Response to “the sound of freedom”


  1. October 23, 2010 at 1:07 pm

    Hahahahaha… definitely not mad at you! Instead… delighted to see you!


Leave a Reply

time flies

October 2010
S M T W T F S
« Sep   Nov »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  
Follow enjoying the ride… on WordPress.com

enter your email

Join 1,208 other followers

when I wrote my stuff

Stuff others seem interested in


