29
Oct
10

Jesus Loves the Kids (Part 2)

Julia (my 7 year old) and I were recently having a girls’ lunch with some other family members, and I found myself in the middle of a conversation, where I was doing most of the talking, and I was talking about another person, gossiping actually.  I can’t do anything to help the person I was talking about, and the people I was with at the table can’t do anything to help this person either.

I should have known better, and I did, but I was running off at the mouth. I was so intent on sharing my information that I hadn’t even realized that Julia had been paying attention. I was most of the way through what I had to say when Julia slid over right beside me in our booth and as she did, she touched me on the arm and looked up at me with her big brown eyes and kindly rebuked me by saying to me, “Momma, but Jesus is still fixing ___ too.” I looked down at her and I knew she was speaking words of truth to me, and I responded, “Yes, Julia, you’re right. He is.”

At that point, I should have shut my mouth right there. But I didn’t. I wanted to finish what I had to say, so I did.

You know, I didn’t get struck by lightening that day for my lack of obedience, because Abba is gracious, but I sure didn’t use my speech to edify the other family members who were sitting with me at the table, listening to me babble on about a person who cannot in any way be helped by my gossip.

Gossip has been one of those things that’s been really hard for me to let go of.  I like to know stuff that other people don’t know and then like to share what I know. I gossip many times out of my own insecurities, because I think that comparing myself with others will somehow make me feel better about myself.  These are the times when I fail to look to Jesus and find my security in Him. Gossip is one of those sins that we tolerate because it doesn’t seem to be one of the really bad sins, but it is big because it spreads dissension among believers.    

In Galatians, Paul talks about the freedom that we have in Christ and how we are to use that freedom to serve each other and ultimately to love each other.  He says in Galatians 5,  “If you keep on biting and devouring each other, watch out or you will be destroyed by each other.” Strong words for a little sin. 

The ironic thing is that I had just prayed before lunch that our words would be glorifying to God, yet my own were not. I’m really not into sin management, but I do want to listen to the Holy Spirit. And what a great story to remind me next time I’m tempted to gossip.

You know, we’re supposed to be teaching our kids about God, but most of the time I really think it’s the other way around. I sure am glad Abba loves all of His kids so much…big and small. And thank goodness, Jesus isn’t done fixing us all.

1 Response to “Jesus Loves the Kids (Part 2)”


  1. November 6, 2010 at 10:09 pm

    I love this Kim. And I love that you aren’t afraid to share that you still went on gossiping even though you’d gotten a reminder. How often I continue to do whatever it is I’m right then being reminded I shouldn’t do. How grateful I am for grace, and how sweet to see the fruit of God’s grace in Julia. Thanks for sharing.


Leave a Reply

time flies

October 2010
S M T W T F S
« Sep   Nov »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  
Follow enjoying the ride… on WordPress.com

enter your email

Join 1,210 other followers

when I wrote my stuff

Stuff others seem interested in


