08
Nov
10

It’s the Little Things

I was outside reading the other day because it was warmer outside than it was in my house…the sun felt so good compared to the inside of my house.

I hate turning on the heat, and we delay doing it every year. Last year, we finally turned it on at Thanksgiving because my family came, and we figured it would not be the most hospitable thing to make them sleep in the cold. It’s not just that I want to hold off on the gas bill, but it’s also the principle of the thing. In my mind, once we turn the heat on, I’ve now succumbed to the fact that winter is officially here.

Winter is not my favorite season with its bare branches and sun-less days and my cold hands and feet that just never seem to warm up. But on the flip side, if it’s going to be cold, I’m always hopeful that there will be snow.

As I was sitting there reading, I heard what I thought was clapping above my head, and it startled me. I turned around to see that my neighbor’s tree still had leaves on it, and I saw the leaves flapping crazily in the wind. I think the reason that it startled me and even made me turn around was that the wind wasn’t even blowing where I was sitting. I was in awe at the shaking and the rattling of those leaves, and I sat there and watched for a few minutes.

We recently watched Extreme Home Makeover where they went and re-did a school for the deaf. When the crew showed up, the kids all put their hands up in the air and shook them back and forth excitedly. For some reason, that really moved me. It was their way of clapping.

Saturday, as I was cleaning out my closet, I came across a picture of me when I was little, probably around 18 months or so. It looked like I had just opened a present, but the thing I like best about the picture is that my arms were straight up in the air. I found another picture where I had this same posture. Mouth wide open laughing, eyes dancing, and arms straight up in the air.

But these days, I find my arms straight up in the air, sometimes followed by laughter, sometimes crying and sometimes loud war whoops that don’t seem to startle my kids as much as they used to.

 That day that the leaves were clapping, and I couldn’t yet feel the wind, left me hopeful and grateful.

I like clapping, but I like arms raised in the sky even better because it seems a little more like those wild crazy leaves flapping in the wind…it seems a little more like me…one of Jesus’ ragamuffins.

You will go out in joy 
   and be led forth in peace;
the mountains and hills
   will burst into song before you,
and all the trees of the field
   will clap their hands. Isaiah 55:12

2 Responses to “It’s the Little Things”


  1. November 8, 2010 at 4:56 pm

    Love this image!
    Wish I could have watched you watching the tree.

  2. 2 Anna
    November 8, 2010 at 8:58 pm

    Reading this inspired me. I love the image of your kids watching you throw your hands up in the air in laughter. I want my kids to see me like that. Happy and free.
    I love ya Kim.


Leave a Reply

time flies

November 2010
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Dec »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  
Follow enjoying the ride… on WordPress.com

enter your email

Join 1,208 other followers

when I wrote my stuff

Stuff others seem interested in


